The Ministry Of Wolves

Mick Harvey, Alexander Hacke, Danielle de Picciotto & Paul Wallfisch

Release Date 
March 10 2014


  1. The Gold Key
  2. Rumpelstiltskin
  3. The Frog Prince
  4. Cinderella
  5. Rapunzel (As Isadora Duncan)
  6. Hansel & Gretel
  7. Snow White (Heptagon)
  8. The Little Peasant
  9. Sleeping Beauty
  10. Iron Hans
  11. Little Red Riding Hood
  12. White Snake Waltz

Based on the writings of the Brothers Grimm, in particular Anne Sexton’s ‘Transformations’ (1971), the Pulitzer Prize winning poet’s reworking of the Grimm’s fairy tales, the album has been created as a soundtrack to ‘Republik der Wölfe’ a theatre production directed by Claudia Bauer.

In the hands of Alexander Hacke (Einstürzende Neubauten / Crime & The City Solution), Mick Harvey (co-founder of Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds), Danielle de Picciotto (co-founder of Germany’s ‘Love Parade’ and more recently, member of Crime & The City Solution) and Paul Wallfisch (musical director at the Theater Dortmund), these morality tales and warnings are as dark as you remember them from childhood, and, as can be heard here in ‘Rumpelstiltskin’ expose the characters as more human than they first seem, showing an aspect of ourselves we might prefer to ignore: “He is a monster of despair. He is all decay.”