musterhaus 3


Limited Edition CD. 2006


  1. Bassfeder
  2. Feder Vice
  3. Geschichte der F.
  4. Dingfest
  5. Schlagkraft
  6. Rhythmen fuer Bassfeder
  7. Springtime
  8. Nux Vomica

Written & composed by

Jochen Arbeit, Blixa Bargeld, Alexander Hacke, Rudi Moser, N.U. Unruh.


Musterhaus 3 is a collection of bass spring compositions by the individual members of Einstürzende Neubauten. The approaches taken are quite diverse. “Bassfeder” consists of one beat on the bass spring, broken down into several hundred segments of the same length. Each segment then placed 200 frames later than the previous. “Feder Vice” is research into what one could produce from the sound of a single beat. In “Geschichte der F.” Blixa conducts an interview with Andrew and then uses the speech pattern as trigger for the bass spring.

“Dingfest” is an exploration of what a choir of 50+ bass springs sound like. In “Schlagkraft”, Rudolf recorded lightning sparklers on the bass spring and the subsequent cooling sounds: the voice of a German news reader makes an accidental appearance. “12 Rhythmen fuer Bassfeder” use selected Midi files, replacing the original Midi sounds with bass spring samples. “Spring-Time” is a melancholic score for bass spring samples, string quartet, French horn and flute. “Nux Vomica” started out with the concept of a dub version in mind; every sound except vocals is in fact bass spring.