musterhaus 5


Limited Edition CD. 2006


  1. Keine Schönheit ohne Gefahr
  2. Outgoing Message
  3. Incoming Messages
  4. Décomposition d'un Placard
  5. Diverse Lokationen
  6. Michael
  7. Verbalien
  8. Atmosphaeren
  9. N.U.'s Gaesteliste
  10. Eisengrau All-Stars A
  11. Eisengrau All-Stars B

Used to be available for subscribers only! Now everybody can buy the last copies.
Volume 5 in the Musterhaus series, which collects Neubauten releases of an even more experimental nature.

The battery operated tape recorder was an indispensable gadget to the early EN. Everybody had one, most of us had one with all the time and everywhere. We recorded: discussions, music improvisations and TV, day to day noises. We yelled and looped, we kissed its microphone and threw it on long suspenders across the wall. On this disc we have compiled some of these recordings, some in their original form: “Décomposition d'un Placard” is the memorable event of N.U. taking a wardrobe apart in his Paris hotel room in order to support his mattress; the “Eisengrau All-Stars” was recorded in one day in my shop in Berlin, with whoever came and went (Wolfgang Müller and Nikolaus Utermöhlen of “Die tödliche Doris”, padeluun, Alex, Andrew and various members of the “Geniale Dilletanten” scene). Others we enjoyed playing with again in 2006: “Diverse Lokationen”consists of recording expeditions (Watertower, street objects / inner city railway guerrilla performance / bathtub and so on…) EN did between 1980 and 1983, mixed with other recordings from the EN archive (i.e. a nightly car ride with Chrislo Haas and the subsequent manipulations of the tape). Back then, we also recorded every interview samples spiced with Alex’s original tape-noise array from his early “Borsigwerke” concerts. Around 1984, cassette based answering machines became available in Germany and were greeted happily by some of us, the detritus of those cassettes can be heard here as well. The recording walkman disappeared, or has been replaced by newer technologies. The guestlist is full.
Blixa Bargeld

Written & composed by

Jochen Arbeit, Blixa Bargeld, Alexander Hacke, Rudi Moser, N.U. Unruh.