2002 - 2010

Mute (EMI) 1993 (2004)
Release Date 
Oct 22 2010


  1. Perpetuum Mobile (single version)
  2. Selbstportrait mit Kater (full version)
  3. Ein Leichtes Leises Säulsen
  4. Youme & Meyou
  5. Dead Friends (around the corner)
  6. Insomnia
  7. Party in Meck-Pomm
  8. X
  9. Floorpiece / Grundstück
  10. Good Morning Everybody
  11. Waiting For The Call
  12. Wo Sind Meine Schuhe?
  13. GS1 & GS2
  14. Palast der Republik

Strategies Against Architecture IV, is the fourth album in the archival compilation series by Neubauten and collates the band’s output from 2002-2010, a period which saw Einstürzende Neubauten release Perpetuum Mobile (2004 / Mute), embark on the “Musterhaus” series (finalised in 2007), the release of Grundstück (CD & DVD, 2005), Palast der Republik (DVD, 2006), Alles wieder offen (2007) and their most recent release The Jewels (2008).

During this time, the band began their groundbreaking series of ‘Supporter Albums’.

For these releases, the band, via, engaged fans in a subscription model that entirely financed several releases and gave the ‘Supporters’ unprecedented exclusive access to the recording process.

The Strategies Against Architecture IV double disc release includes material from the band’s deeply symbolic appearance at Berlin’s Palast der Republik - the former of seat of power of the German Democratic Republik, featuring The Social Choir of 100 supporter voices; live recordings such as YouMe & MeYou (from Vienna); Bertolt Brecht Und Der Weltempfänger (featuring “a roll of gaffer tape descending a staircase”) as well as material from the “Musterhaus” series (a collection of very limited edition experimental albums that were available exclusively via the band’s website).